R+ 64 – Alex Ghane and Mario Maestas – Happy Birthday America – Virgie, Kentucky to Honaker, Virginia

On America’s Birthday I reflected on how I spend many a Fourth of July. Wether in the Page’s pool as a child, shooting pop flares in the Mediterranean while at sea, waving a flag in Afghanistan and Iraq, riding in a bike parade in Eclipse, VA, or spending it on the National Mall, this Fourth will not be forgotten for a long time as I journeyed through the heart of the Appalachians.

I had a quick bite of a pizza biscut and hash browns at the local gas station before starting the day. On my way up the hill leaving Vergie I got a front flat tire, a piece of glass from some very bad roads in Pike county, probably the worst roads of the TransAm. Shortly after climbing the hill into lookout I met Mark from Oregon who started about a week ago from Yorktown. He was having a good ride, but talked of the crazy weather on the east coast, this coming from an Oregonian. On the way down the hill I got a flat on my trailer. While I was fixing the tire, 3 different people stopped by and offer help. While Pike County may have the worst roads, they do have some of the most friendliest people.

I rode through Hellier and Ashcamp and into Elkhorn City where I stopped for lunch at the Rusty Fork and had a great double cheeseburger, fries, and cole slaw. Already there was a group that had been biking from China, to Korea, to Japan, from LA and then onto Washington, DC, Ireland and into London for the Olympic games. They are an international bicycle expedition to celebrate the 2012 Olympic year. The expedition will promote peace, cross-cultural communication and understanding between nations. The consists of New Zealander’s, a Pole, a Lithuanian, a Scot and couple of Irish. They are mostly in their late 50’s and 60’s and have a support van helping them out. I had a very nice conversation with several of them before heading out.

I stopped at the Breaks Interstate Park shortly after crossing into Virginia. It is called Breaks because it is the only break in the Pine Mountains of over 200 miles. The formations down in the river were truly amazing.

After Breaks, it was an ice cream stop in Haysi and then a nice ride along the Priest Fork River through Bee and Davenport before climbing the “Big A” Hill after Council and then down the hill into Honaker.

I had a very nice baked spaghetti dinner at the Pizza Pluz parlor and then set up camp at the local ball fields.

Yesterday I came to the realization that I will not have enough days to dedicate a full day to the SEALs and NSW combat enablers that have died since 9/11. It is by no means a lesser reflection on the sacrifice they made, but unfortunately more men have died then I have days left on the ride.

In the morning SO2 Shappor “Alex” Ghane. Alex died training for combat in 2008. He was a friend to many and a dedicated SEAL. He grew up in Las Vegas and wanted to be a SEAL since he was a teenager. He had a infections energy and a drive that was unmatched. His sacrifice will not be forgotten.

In the afternoon I rode in honor of IT2 (SEAL) Mario Maestas. Mario died training for combat in 2003. He grew up in Louisville, KY and was clean cut and family orientated. His teammates described him as driven, smart and responsible. Young men like this who give the ultimate sacrafice for our nation must not be forgotten. CTRCS David Blake McLendon. Senior Chief was killed in Afghanistan when his helicopter crashed in 2010. He was from Thomasville, GA and everyone called him Blake. He graduated from Excelsior Collerge, loved fishing and putting a smile on peoples faces. At 12 years in the Navy and already an E-8 he was a rising superstar. His sacrifice will continue to make him a superstar to us all. should honor his ultimate sacrifice by keeping his memory alive.

Statistics for R+64 Day:

69.2 miles for the day

4116.0 total miles

Sunny

Winds Calm

Campsite elevation: Back to being a flatlander

Grand total

8 flat tires bike

8 flat tires trailer

2 tire change bike

1 tire change trailer

Big game observed: Deer, beaver, reindeer, elk, turkey, antelope, buffalo, fox, coyote, armadillo

Chasing Dogs: Sixteen

Standing Best of List

Best meal: JD Pasta at the Bear Trap Café, Riverside WY

Best breakfast: Inland Café, Baker City. OR

Best pie: Marion Cafe, Marion, KY

Best beer: Cowfish, Lander, WY

Best Burger: Effie’s Place, Rush Center, KS

Best Toby Keith Like Bar: Ace Saloon, Council, ID

Best Overall Meal Deal: Sunday Brunch, Jackson Hot Springs, MT

Hardest Hill: Whitebird, ID

This entry was posted in Evin's Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to R+ 64 – Alex Ghane and Mario Maestas – Happy Birthday America – Virgie, Kentucky to Honaker, Virginia

  1. Jennifer says:

    Mario Maestas is from Louisville,Colorado..
    He was like a brother to me.

  2. Thank You Evin for your Ride, Dedication And Memorials!!…..Heartfelt From You!!!….Struck A Chord We ALWAYS Have to Visit About With Friends, Family, and Neighbors……About SEAL’s and NSW combat enablers which have given up THEIR LIVES, DREAMS AND THOUGHTS, TIME WITH FAMILY…. For OUR American Freedom..,,,,.ALSO>>!! Many Thanks to all United States Of America Armed Forces…past and present working hard, protecting America and keeping the Faith…Mark V

  3. Cuz says:

    Glad to hear you are in Virginia! RAGBRAI will be a breeze. You will have to take 2 naps a day! Can’t to hear more stories! GBA and take care.

  4. Great job Evin! It must feel good to be on the last stretch. I have enjoyed following you on your journey. See you at RAGBRAI!

  5. John Ferrer says:

    Caught up with a lot of your posts over the last few days. I was really moved by your time with the parent’s of Lance Corporal Chance Phelps. I know that wasn’t the first time in the presence of family who have lost loved ones in the defense of freedom. I am humbled.
    I know you had to burn a few extra calories, but I loved the chain ring events. It struck me as a small parable for the SEAL ethos.
    I paddled out yesterday just after dawn and had a few moments to reflect on how much this great nation has given us. Thought about all the time you spent in the water a little south of where I was surfing – again humbled when I think of all you time you and your team mates have spent there without the wetsuit I normally wear.
    Best wishes on the rest of the ride. GBA, Pinto

  6. Jeff Hughes says:

    Great job Shipmate! I bet it was quite the sight seeing the Virginia state sign – congratulations on making that milestone ET. The pictures are beautiful. I have never been to that part of Virginia, but look forward to the day I can see it my self. Thank you for what you are doing and keep charging. You are almost home! Jeff

  7. Leslie Crawford says:

    Hi Evin, Your trip has been really fun to follow. You’re almost there. I’ll bet you don’t want it to end! Hello from Coronado, Don and Les Crawford

  8. Terry Miller says:

    Evin

    Outstanding…On the Home Stretch

Leave a comment